Camdram

Downing Dramatic SocietyDDS

The Downing Dramatic Society is brought to you by Downing College (previous alumni including Thandie Newton, Michael Winner, John Cleese, Sir Trevor Nunn and Andy Hamilton). Based in the Howard Theatre, a multi-million pound facility generously donated by Downing Alumnus Professor Alan Howard, we present at least two shows per term: including our now very successful annual Lent Term DDS Freshers Play and Festival of New Writing.

The Howard Theatre, designed in the Neo-Classical style by famed architect Quinlan Terry, is a state of the art facility used for both conferences and theatrical productions with a total capacity of 160 people. It's styled interior has made it suitable for many period productions such as Oscar Wilde's 'Lady Windermere's Fan', Tom Stoppard's 'Arcadia', and many more. However, the space has proven, still to be incredibly versatile, being used for contemporary New Writing productions as well.

We are proving to be a major player in Cambridge's dramatic scene, funding incredibly successful shows both at and outside of the Howard Theatre and Heong Gallery.

The society is always looking for people with new ideas, if you have one; we want to make it happen.

Current Committee:
Co-Presidents - William Audis and Maria Telnikoff (president@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)
Secretary - Leila Lawrence (secretary@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)
Treasurer - Meggie Boyle (treasurer@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)
Theatre Officer - Lucy Willis (theatre@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)
Publicity and Design Officer - Hanna Ladbrooke (design-publicity@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)
New Writing Officers - currently vacant (new-writing@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)
Socials Officer - Leila Lawrence (socials@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)
Freshers Officer - Mark Jones (freshers@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)

Please send all funding applications to William Audis and Maria Telnikoff at president@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk.

Contact Downing Dramatic Society

Get involved with Downing Dramatic Society shows:

No opportunities are currently being advertised - why not check out the main vacancies page?

You can also see all events that have been put on by this society.

News

Shows

  • Sun 9 Oct
  • Mon 10 Oct
  • Tue 11 Oct
  • Wed 12 Oct
  • Thu 13 Oct
  • Fri 14 Oct
  • Sat 15 Oct
  • Sun 13 Nov
  • Mon 14 Nov
  • Tue 15 Nov
  • Wed 16 Nov
  • Thu 17 Nov
  • Fri 18 Nov
  • Sat 19 Nov
  • Sun 20 Nov
  • Mon 21 Nov
  • Tue 22 Nov
  • Wed 23 Nov
  • Thu 24 Nov
  • Fri 25 Nov
  • Sat 26 Nov

Past shows

See all the shows this society has been previously involved in at the society history page.