Camdram

Downing Dramatic SocietyDDS

The Downing Dramatic Society is brought to you by Downing College (previous alumni including Thandie Newton, Michael Winner, John Cleese, Sir Trevor Nunn and Andy Hamilton). Based in the Howard Theatre, a multi-million pound facility generously donated by Downing Alumnus Professor Alan Howard, we present at least two shows per term: including our now very successful annual Lent Term DDS Freshers Play and Festival of New Writing.

The Howard Theatre, designed in the Neo-Classical style by famed architect Quinlan Terry, is a state of the art facility used for both conferences and theatrical productions with a total capacity of 160 people. It's styled interior has made it suitable for many period productions such as Oscar Wilde's 'Lady Windermere's Fan', Tom Stoppard's 'Arcadia', and many more. However, the space has proven, still to be incredibly versatile, being used for contemporary New Writing productions as well.

We are proving to be a major player in Cambridge's dramatic scene, funding incredibly successful shows both at and outside of the Howard Theatre and Heong Gallery.

The society is always looking for people with new ideas, if you have one; we want to make it happen.

Current Committee:
President - Matthew Paul (president@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)
Vice-President - Seb Brindle (vice-president@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)
Secretary - Samantha Creswick (secretary@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)
Treasurer - William Audis (treasurer@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)
Theatre Officer - William Audis (theatre@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)
Publicity and Design Officer - Hanna Ladbrooke (design-publicity@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)
New Writing Officers - Savanna Patel and Aurelia Eulenburg (new-writing@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)
Socials Officer - Marianne Porter (socials@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)
Freshers Officer - Maria Telnikoff (freshers@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)

Please send all funding applications to Matthew Paul at president@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk and Seb Brindle at vice-president@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk.

Contact Downing Dramatic Society

Get involved with Downing Dramatic Society shows:
FESTIVAL OF NEW WRITING: TECHNICIAN/LD NEEDED

DDS are looking for a **technician** for our annual Festival of New Writing. The festival is Cambridge theatre's flagship new writing event and features a panel of industry professionals, and we need somebody to tech the nine student-written plays being showcased this year at the Howard Theatre. The technician would be expected to program the lighting for each of the plays (nothing too complicated!) during tech week (09:00-17:00 on 21 June to 23 June) and then tech each of the performances (07:30-09:30 on 24 June to 26 June). No prior experience required - training can be provided and the technician will be supported at all times by the DDS committee and a professional AV technician from the College.

    Contact William (wba22@cam.ac.uk) before 16th Jun 2021 23:00 for more details.

    You can also see all events that have been put on by this society.

    News

    Shows

    • Sun 20 Jun
    • Mon 21 Jun
    • Tue 22 Jun
    • Wed 23 Jun
    • Thu 24 Jun
    • Fri 25 Jun
    • Sat 26 Jun
    • Sun 27 Jun
    • Mon 28 Jun
    • Tue 29 Jun
    • Wed 30 Jun
    • Thu 1 Jul
    • Fri 2 Jul
    • Sat 3 Jul
    14:00 A Midsummer Night's Dream Master's Garden, Downing College

    Past shows

    See all the shows this society has been previously involved in at the society history page.