Camdram

Downing Dramatic SocietyDDS

The Downing Dramatic Society is brought to you by Downing College (previous alumni including Thandie Newton, Michael Winner, John Cleese, Sir Trevor Nunn and Andy Hamilton). Based in the Howard Theatre, a multi-million pound facility generously donated by Downing Alumnus Professor Alan Howard, we present at least two shows per term: including our now very successful annual Lent Term DDS Freshers Play and Festival of New Writing.

The Howard Theatre, designed in the Neo-Classical style by famed architect Quinlan Terry, is a state of the art facility used for both conferences and theatrical productions with a total capacity of 160 people. It's styled interior has made it suitable for many period productions such as Oscar Wilde's 'Lady Windermere's Fan', Noël Coward's 'Hay Fever' and many more. However, the space has proven, still to be incredibly versatile, being used for contemporary New Writing productions as well.

We are proving to be a major player in Cambridge's dramatic scene, funding incredibly successful shows both at and outside of the Howard Theatre, so come watch our productions, or apply to be a part of them!

Current Committee:
President - Joe Hilton (president@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)
Vice-President - Priya Edwards (vice-president@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)
Treasurer - Jai Shende (treasurer@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)
Secretary - Annabelle Haworth (secretary@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)
Publicity and Design Officer - Sophie Fenton (design-publicity@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)
New Writing Officers - April Jackso and Oliver Rhodes (new-writing@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk)

Please send all funding applications to Priya Edwards at funding@dds.dow.cam.ac.uk.

Contact Downing Dramatic Society

Get involved with Downing Dramatic Society shows:

No opportunities are currently being advertised - why not check out the main vacancies page?

News

Shows

  • Sun 17 Feb
  • Mon 18 Feb
  • Tue 19 Feb
  • Wed 20 Feb
  • Thu 21 Feb
  • Fri 22 Feb
  • Sat 23 Feb
  • Sun 3 Mar
  • Mon 4 Mar
  • Tue 5 Mar
  • Wed 6 Mar
  • Thu 7 Mar
  • Fri 8 Mar
  • Sat 9 Mar