Camdram

The Marlowe SocietyMarlowe

The Marlowe is one of Cambridge's oldest student drama societies, and is dedicated to high-quality performances of Elizabethan, verse, and non-realist plays including classics and plays rarely seen on the professional stage. Its alumni include Rupert Brooke, Trevor Nunn, Ian McKellen, Derek Jacobi, Corin Redgrave, Sam Mendes, Rachel Weisz and many others.

We present an annual production in the Cambridge Arts Theatre, with a professional Director and Design team and student casts and production crews. We also put on the other performances, talks, workshops and events throughout the year.

The Marlowe also strongly promotes new student play writing, annually awarding the Marlowe/RSC Other Prize, and running a writers' group. The society prides itself on being welcoming and innovative, and linking the thriving world of Cambridge drama to the professional theatrical scene.

For further information on The Marlowe, visit www.themarlowesociety.com.

Contact The Marlowe Society

Get involved with The Marlowe Society shows:

No opportunities are currently being advertised - why not check out the main vacancies page?

News

The Marlowe Society 22:08 on 14th October Twitter

Samson Agonistes by John Kinsella is now sold out! There is however a waiting list, so that should anybody find themselves unable to attend, their space can be opened up for other audience members.


The Marlowe Society 10:32 on 13th October Twitter

A reminder to reserve your ticket (free of charge) for Samson Agonistes on the 24th October. We are at 50% capacity, and there will be a waiting list in action should we sell out. This will be a special evening for anyone interested in Kinsella or Milton! eventbrite.co.uk/e/samson-agoni…


The Marlowe Society 13:36 on 6th October Twitter

Reserve your ticket for John Kinsella's brand new play, "Samson Agonistes" on Wednesday 24th October! eventbrite.co.uk/e/samson-agoni… @EventbriteUK


The Marlowe Society 08:59 on 2nd October Twitter

Come and check out our freshers fair stall today!


The Marlowe Society 19:56 on 20th August Twitter

Very excited to announce that we have been asked to produce the premiere performance of John Kinsella's new verse play, "Samson Agonistes"! Kinsella's pacifist text touches on themes of modern warfare, identity and knotty global politics. Keep your eyes peeled for tickets!


The Marlowe Society 22:30 on 21st June Twitter

Thank you to everybody who has contributed to all of our successes this year, from our theatrical projects to our training workshops. None of it could have happened without the help of so many generous professionals, alumni, and of course our talented student theatre-makers.


The Marlowe Society 22:26 on 21st June Twitter

The Cambridge year may have ended, but we're so excited to have so much in the pipeline for the coming year already. Keep your eyes peeled for announcements about this year's @camartstheatre show, our graduate actors' showcase, and the premiere of a new play from a leading poet!


The Marlowe Society 22:10 on 26th January Twitter

Two more chances to see "Romeo and Juliet" @camartstheatre -- you never know what the cast might be up to in a few years... varsity.co.uk/theatre/14522


The Marlowe Society 01:27 on 26th January Twitter

Thank you Ruby! We're really pleased that you enjoyed the show, and thank you for spreading the word. twitter.com/RubyKatMorris/…


The Marlowe Society 01:26 on 26th January Twitter

Thank you so much Paula! We're so glad you enjoyed the show, and thank you for tweeting us. If you know of anyone else in the area this week who might enjoy the play, we'd be very grateful if you could let them know about it too! twitter.com/MsPMeyer/statu…


The Marlowe Society 13:52 on 23rd January Twitter

Our cast and crew of over 30 includes students from 20 different colleges. Come see Romeo and Juliet @camartstheatre for a truly pan-Cambridge theatrical experience!


The Marlowe Society 11:31 on 23rd January Twitter

Six incredible Marlowe alumni will be speaking the Prologue during this week's run of #RomeoAndJuliet at the @camartstheatre ???? Thank you to #DerekJacobi , @IanMcKellen and #TomHollander ...


The Marlowe Society 12:33 on 21st January Twitter

Three days to go until #RomeoAndJuliet goes up at the @camartstheatre ... Tickets available at cambridgeartstheatre.com -- don't miss out!


The Marlowe Society 13:03 on 16th January Twitter

Please check our Facebook page for information on a classical acting workshop we are hosting in Feb, run by Ben Naylor, head of MA Classical Acting @CSSDLondon ! Register your interest on the form.


The Marlowe Society 17:14 on 29th November Twitter

It was a pleasure to have you Tony. Thank you so much for coming! x twitter.com/Tonygardner/st…


The Marlowe Society 22:01 on 27th October Twitter

Thank you so much Paula! We're thrilled you enjoyed the show ???????? twitter.com/MsPMeyer/statu…


The Marlowe Society 15:24 on 21st October Twitter

The Old Vic is hiring a Marketing Assistant and Theatre Administrator! Could this be you? oldvictheatre.com/about-us/work-…


The Marlowe Society 14:56 on 20th October Twitter

That's right folks, we have a smol doggo in the cast! Pop along to Love's Labours Lost to see him snuffle into action! twitter.com/adctheatre/sta…


The Marlowe Society 00:07 on 16th October Twitter

The Bush Theatre is recruiting for a paid Production Intern to begin their career in arts production and backstage: bushtheatre.co.uk/about-us/job-v…


The Marlowe Society 22:47 on 15th October Twitter

@cehamblin @littler_tom @camartstheatre Education Officer Ruby here - we would absolutely love love you to come up and do a something with us!


The Marlowe Society 18:47 on 8th October Twitter

On 13th November, the incredible John Agard is coming to the Corpus Playroom! Make sure you get your tickets now! facebook.com/events/1924294…


The Marlowe Society 16:27 on 3rd October Twitter

Make sure you get down to the @adctheatre bar at 7pm on Monday 9th for our drinks evening with the committee! Ask questions & meet pals ????


Shows

  • Sun 21 Oct
  • Mon 22 Oct
  • Tue 23 Oct
  • Wed 24 Oct
  • Thu 25 Oct
  • Fri 26 Oct
  • Sat 27 Oct
  • Sun 4 Nov
  • Mon 5 Nov
  • Tue 6 Nov
  • Wed 7 Nov
  • Thu 8 Nov
  • Fri 9 Nov
  • Sat 10 Nov
  • Sun 18 Nov
  • Mon 19 Nov
  • Tue 20 Nov
  • Wed 21 Nov
  • Thu 22 Nov
  • Fri 23 Nov
  • Sat 24 Nov
  • Sun 6 Jan
  • Mon 7 Jan
  • Tue 8 Jan
  • Wed 9 Jan
  • Thu 10 Jan
  • Fri 11 Jan
  • Sat 12 Jan
  • Sun 13 Jan
  • Mon 14 Jan
  • Tue 15 Jan
  • Wed 16 Jan
  • Thu 17 Jan
  • Fri 18 Jan
  • Sat 19 Jan